Member News

Iowa Biodiesel Board Elects Leaders at Regional Annual Meeting

Sep 14, 2018, 10:03 AM
Biodiesel producer Tom Brooks to lead for a third term

(DES MOINES, Iowa) – An Iowa biodiesel producer will serve a third term as chair of the Iowa Biodiesel Board. The directors elected officers during the Iowa Biodiesel Board and National Biodiesel Board Regional Annual Meeting, taking place Sept. 12 – 13 in Des Moines.

Tom Brooks, general manager of biodiesel producer Western Dubuque Biodiesel in Farley, Iowa, was re-elected to lead the organization for the next year.

“I’m honored to have the continued faith and trust of the Iowa Biodiesel Board directors,” Brooks said. “This is a unique trade association in that we represent the entire value chain, from farmers to biodiesel producers to marketers. We face continued challenges for our industry, but we also have a leadership opportunity in Iowa and nationally, with the skills and passion of those serving on the board.” 

Doug Lenhart, vice president of procurement and logistics at Iowa-headquartered Renewable Energy Group (REG) was elected secretary. He replaces Dawn Carlson, Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Stores of Iowa. She remains on the board as a director.

The full slate of officers for the organization is: 

  • Chair: Tom Brooks, Western Dubuque Biodiesel (re-elected)
  • Vice Chair: Brad Wilson, Western Iowa Energy (re-elected)
  • Treasurer: Reed Herzig, Monsanto (newly elected)
  • Secretary: Doug Lenhart, REG

The board elected Dave Walton, a soybean farmer from Wilton, Iowa, to the board. He also serves as secretary of the Iowa Soybean Association, and raises cattle and sheep. Walton replaces Ron Heck as the ISA representative. The board thanked Heck for his years of dedicated service.

Biodiesel is made from a diverse mix of resources. These include recycled cooking oil, soybean oil and animal fats.

The Iowa Biodiesel Board is a state trade association representing the biodiesel industry.

For more on biodiesel, visit

# # #

Contact: Jenna Higgins Rose
(573) 808-0815 (cell)

Missouri Headquarters
605 Clark Ave.
PO Box 104898
Jefferson City, MO 65110

Washington, D.C. Office
1331 Pennsylvania Ave., NW
Suite 505
Washington, DC 20004

California Office
1415 L Street
Suite 460
Sacramento, CA 95814

Massachusetts Office
36 Jonspin Road
Suite 235
Wilmington, MA 01887

Contact Us |  Terms of Use
Copyright ©2021 National Biodiesel Board. All rights reserved.

A member of the National Biodiesel Board Family of Websites: